You are currently viewing Fourth Chakra – Heart Chakra

Fourth Chakra – Heart Chakra

Sanskrit Name for the Heart Chakra is Anahata

The Heart Chakra Color is Emerald Green

The fourth chakra instills the knowledge that the most powerful energy on earth is love. It is the operating system of the entire subtle body. It is the bridge that connects the fifth, sixth, and seventh chakras that are associated with intuition, spirituality, and consciousness. The heart is the mediator between body and spirit, directly determining their wellbeing. 

It grants us compassion, respect, affection, and the ability to forgive. It allows us to feel a child-like innocence and joy, and the ability to give unconditional love, and form strong, healthy relationships. 


The location of the heart chakra is at the center of the chest.

Fourth Chakra - Heart Chakra

How an Unbalanced Heart Chakra Manifests in the Body

An unbalanced heart chakra can cause pneumonia, asthma, breast problems, respiratory problems, upper back pain, shoulder and upper arm pain, and premature aging.

Signs of an Overactive Heart Chakra

Signs include codependency and poor boundaries. These people can be demanding, clingy, and overly sacrificing. They also tend to continually give to others, overexerting themselves with little regard for their wellbeing, and losing their sense of identity.

How to Balance the Heart Chakra

Close your eyes, turn your attention inwardly, away from ego, and envision a glowing, emerald green wheel or lotus flower spinning at the center of your chest. Imagine becoming one with the universe.  Chant “I am open to love” or “I am filled with love,” and call forth a green glowing light emanating from the center of your being. Imagine the emerald green spinning as a lotus flower growing larger. Chant the Bija mantra below.

Bija Mantra Meditation

“Yam”. Pronounced Yaaahm

Yoga Poses for Activating the Power of the Heart Chakra

yoga poses heart chakra 4th chakra
1st Chakra Root Chakra

First Chakra

Root Chakra

2nd Chakra Sacral Chakra

Second Chakra

Sacral Chakra

Click Here

3rd Chakra Solar Plexus Chakra

Third Chakra

Solar Plexus

Click Here

4th Chakra Heart Chakra

Fourth Chakra

Heart Chakra

Click Here

5th Chakra Throat Chakra

Fifth Chakra

Throat Chakra

Click Here

6th Chakra Third Eye Chakra

Sixth Chakra

Third Eye

Click Here

7th Chakra Crown Chakra

Seventh Chakra

Crown Chakra

Click Here