You are currently viewing Second Chakra – Sacral Chakra

Second Chakra – Sacral Chakra

Sanskrit Name: Svadhisthana

Color: Orange

The energy of the sacral chakra is the power of partnerships, how we relate to others outside the family, the creative exploration of life and relationships, sexuality, and discovering the power of choice. 

It allows you to feel and experience life to its fullest, a feeling of abundance, confidence, emotional maturity, creativity, and ability to change. It promotes a healthy ego, healthy boundaries, intimate relationships, and sensuality.


The 2nd chakra, sacral chakra is located at the abdomen below the navel.

2nd Chakra Sacral Chakra

How an Unbalanced Sacral Chakra Manifests in the Body

It can cause sexual dysfunction, low libido, and blunted emotions. It also affects the reproductive organs, stomach, kidneys, bladder, gallbladder as well as the lower back.

Signs of an Overactive Sacral Chakra

A feeling of mania, overreacting, arrogance, aggression, anxiety, and thriving on conflict. It can cause addictive/compulsive behaviors, sexual addiction, and becoming overly dependent on others.

Signs of an Underactive Sacral Chakra

It can affect your overall well-being, causing fatigue. It can cause a lack of control ranging from uncertainty to an inability to cope with life’s changes. A person tends to be pessimistic and self-sabotaging. They can become emotionally detached, have low self-worth, lack of desire, insecurity, have addictive behaviors, lack of creativity, and authenticity.  


Physical problems include lower back, kidney, urinary, bladder, and stomach disorders. It can also cause infertility, impotence or menstrual issues, and other reproductive problems. 

How to Balance the Sacral Chakra

To balance the sacral chakra, either sit in a quiet place or do the yoga poses below. Take in a few deep breaths and chant “I enjoy life fully.” Visualize a glowing orange lotus flower blooming and growing.  Chant the Bija Mantra below. Strong emotions may arise during this process. Just accept them, send them love, thank them for their presence and the lessons they represent, and then release them.

Bija Mantra Meditation

‘Vam’ pronounced Vaaahm

Yoga Poses for Activating the Power of the Sacral Chakra

Sacral Chakra Yoga Poses

See the other chakras - click icon below